31 Comments
author

My favorite (right now) is the Hoka Speedgoat. I like that they have a waterproof version available too. My feet don't get wet going through mud, ice, and whatever else.

I'm not training for any trail races, but I do like to run on trails a couple of times a month either in the back of Wissahickon Park in Philadelphia or one of the local cross country trails.

The more strenuous trails I do is usually hiking up in North Jersey/New York. You can get a 2k worth of elevation change in a few miles. I use the Speedgoat for that too because it grips the ground well.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

Will be running in one technical 50k trail race this spring. Will run in New Balance Minimus 10v1 shoes (7.3) oz. Trail will have 6,000 feet of elevation gain, over 1,000 stone stairs to climb and several water crossings. This shoe is in keeping with my running road or non-technical trail races in lightweight running shoes.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

I've been running in the Hoka Torrent for the last year and really like it. It's grippy but light, and isn't as overly cushioned as most Hokas.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

I honestly don't have a preference. I used to run on rough trails more when I lived in San Diego. However, I didn't wear any special shoe. I would just use ordinary running shoes. Now that I am in D.C. I do not find myself running on unpaved terrain very often. However, I would like to get back to trail running a bit more, and your latest shoe discussion was very interesting and informative.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

Topo Ultraventure. Super comfortable, big toe box, versatile — good for road to trail. We get some messy winter conditions in central NY state and I like running in them on roads when it’s snowy/icy/crusty out.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

HOKA speedgoat for me. I do not have the waterproof ones and they keep my feet pretty dry and warm without and waterproofing. I run on mountain trails in ME/NH and I specifically chose Hokas to lessen how much I feel rocks and roots through my shoes and they really made a world of a difference.

Expand full comment

Depends on the trail but either Hoka Torrent or SpeedGoat. Torrent on less technical trails and SpeedGoat when I know I’ll need that extra bit of cushion because of the trail or the length of the run.

Expand full comment

I mostly run on roads of pretty groomed trails so I largely stick with my Kinvaras for everything. But I fell in love with the Merrell AllOut Rush several years ago, and bought a different pair of their trail shoes last year that I like less but that are still pretty good (forget the name). So if I am running on something more technical I will always use the Merrells.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

I'm currently running in Altra's Lone Peak 4.5. And before that the Lone Peak 4.0's.

But that's just another way of saying the Lone Peak's are the only trail running shoe I've ever worn.

Previous to the Altra's I had been running in my Kinvara's, even though portions of the trails I routinely run on are a bit technical. What made me switch was the realization that I was about 45 seconds/mile slower on trails than asphalt and part of that came from poorer traction from the lack of grip on dirt.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

I don't run on trails all that often. However, when I do I’m a huge fan of the Hoya Speedgoat 4’s as well. At the time I bought them, I opted for the waterproof version. Not sure if it was actually worth the extra spend because I’ve maybe needed that option just once.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

Nike Terra Kiger!!!!!!!! They are not too bulky, but still solid and have great traction.

Expand full comment

I'm that West Coastie you mentioned. I do lots of trail races here in the SF Bay Area (Brazen Racing), and at least three Spartan races every year.

For light to moderate trails, I run in New Balance All Terrain...I don't remember the particular model. The sides are pretty high and the tongue is full gusset, so they keep dirt and grit from getting in.

For tough trails, and for Spartan (where there will be water and mud, and ropes, and and and), I run in Altra King MT. They're really light, drain water very quickly, and have a great grip and Altra's signature wide toebox.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

Hoka att and Saucony Excursion both light and water proof.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

Mine is a hybrid as we don’t have many true trails in north Louisiana. Lots of gravel and dirt roads. Huge Hoka fan anyway and the Challenger ATR is my favorite!

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

For me it really depends on the terrain. For trails that are not overly rocky or technical I absolutely love Altra Lone Peak. This shoe is relatively soft however and last month after doing a rocky and technical 50K at Bandera, TX my feet were pretty much trashed. I don't have a favorite right now for really rocky trails so I will be interested in what the others have to say on this thread.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

I just started trail running in November, and my first pair of trail shoes were Topos. I liked them, but I live in Tucson, and the trails out here can be really rocky, so the soles of my feet would be really sore after runs. I swapped them for hoka speedgoats (my first pair of hokas!) and have loved them. If I were to move somewhere with less rocky trails, I might try topos again because they were comfortable, but until then I’ll probably stick with hokas.

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

I tend to stick to more minimal trail shoes because I'm prone to rolling my ankles... Currently wearing Salomons. I'm in the San Diego area and we have those rocky desert trails with lots of ankle rolling obstacles! Anyone else have bad ankles but love trails? I've heard taping with no-stretch tape is the best bet, but I'm open to any other suggestions! I

Expand full comment

Hoka for me too! Love the cushion because I’m so injury prone so for trail this works best for me. Manasquan Reservoir Trail in Monmouth County North Jersey is my favorite, it’s a 5 mile loop with stunning view. Worth the drive for me who lives in South Jersey. Pennypacker if I want to stay local and short run. Wissahickon Park also beautiful!

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2020Liked by Hollie

Altra Superior. Love the lightweight, and removable stone guard. Also has plenty of grip for the East Coast mountain trails. The only minus is the toecap either needs to be longer or shorter, sometimes it rubs the top of my toe if I have thin socks on.

Expand full comment

I have 2 trail shoes. I wear the Brooks Cascadia for the shorter easier trail runs. I wear the Hoka Speedgoats for the more technical and longer trail runs.

Expand full comment