34 Comments

I train because there’s always a race for me in the not so distant future. I love competing. That being said, even if there were no races to look forward to, I’d still train because more than anything it gives me time to spend in my head thinking about life, all it throws at me, and how to deal with it.

Expand full comment

Hello from Germany,

I am also training for the half marathon spring/summer/fall 2022 season. With the pandemic still on, I am hopefull that next year will be better.

My winter training consists of 3-4 days of indoor super-sets/strength training (60 minutes-every day another body part), which is great for cardio/muscle conditioning. as well as 2-3 days of running (trail, uphill,mix...8-12Km avr. 60 minutes).

During Corona lock down no gym, I was running a lot more and I ended up over doing it. I do believe that not going to the gym was also a factor of my injury (nothing major).

The combination of both for myself at my age 53 is what I have found to work the best, with lots of pre and post stretching.

BTW Hollie, I really enjoyed your series about the runners in different age groups. :)

Greeting from München

Expand full comment

Started training couple weeks ago for half marathon that I will be running May 1st of 2022. Looking to improve on my last time on this course where I ran 1:28:48 Will do a tuneup half marathon in early April. Entering new age group 65-69 and hope to continue setting new PR. My half PR is 1:28:19 so sub 1:28 will be one of several goals for this race.

Have done 2 half marathon (7 mile) tempo runs on treadmill in early preparation for the race. Have plenty of time to prepare so currently starting with low mileage (60-65 weekly miles). With 6 month prep I have time to make adjustments with regards to training.

Expand full comment

I'm three weeks into a training cycle for Black Canyon 100k in February. Ran 11:56 or so 2 years ago and looking to beat that by at least 15 minutes!!!

Expand full comment

Oops..let me continue. So 10k on Saturday (The Warrior Run) It benefits veterans here in the Nebraska panhandle. Of course in a few weeks is our local YMCA Turkey Trot 5k. My cousin and I are running the Deseret News Half Marathon in Salt Lake City, Utah on July 23rd. And then on September 24th is my first ever full marathon!!! 2022 is going to be epic!!

Expand full comment

Hi Hollie! First, I read an article that really inspired me and it made me think about how you share what you are excited about..so here it is. https://www.espn.com/espn/story/_/id/32534953/guinness-world-record-los-angeles-marathon-awaits-jocelyn-rivas-2620-incredible-miles

Right now I am in my winter mode. Run 1 hour during the week and more on saturday. And if a 5k or 10k is available locally then I do it. This Saturday I have a 10k (my favorite distance

Expand full comment

Training to maintain fitness to finish out the 2021 racing season through end of November; looking for 10k and 8k PR's and good showings in a 5k cross country and a 5k turkey trot. Then, about a month of mostly easy random running, will start training for my first Boston.

Expand full comment

Have a couple of 5K races Thanksgiving weekend and Jan1. Plan to start training for the North-South Gettysburg Marathon in December -- Thank You for all the info

Expand full comment

Training for Dopey. That’s my A-number-one goal right now.

Expand full comment

Brief comment on lacing of shoes: The best and most secure method I have found is using the Reef Knot. After tying I take thumb and fore finger and snug the knot. If you go to youtube and type in Reef Knot for runners you can view a simple demonstration on the proper tying. This knot is far more secure then the double knot.

Expand full comment

i'm training for two things (neither are race-related): a sub-7 mile and a 15 mile run on thanksgiving. having fun doing so without a race in mind!

Expand full comment

Philadelphia Marathon in 2 weeks! Taper time. Training cycle went well and had a solid half marathon tune up a few weeks ago. Hoping for good weather and no wind this year.

Expand full comment