9 Comments

I've run my last 4 marathons in Hoka Carbon X. Still not sure whether I feel any significant different between those and my usual racing shoes, which are Brooks. The biggest difference, of course, was the price. Yikes.

For trail races, it's still Altra Lone Peaks.

Expand full comment

Saucony Peregrine Trail shoe has been the shoe of choice, but I need to find the Hoka Zinal and give them a go since I loved the Torrent and figure this model has to be close.

Expand full comment

No races in the near future, but I'm running in Atreyu Base model. It's a simple shoe design that works really well. Super light and efficient. Trail wise I'm in Hoka Torrents. Good mix of cushion and lugginess.

Expand full comment

For 5k to 25k I'm racing in Saucony Type a-9 shoes. Very light, slightly under 6 oz. For longer races Saucony Endorphin Pro 2. The pro 2 is 7.4 oz but feels lighter. Example the Hoka One One Rincon 2 is same weight but to me it's feels much heavier. Low or medium training runs I use the Sketcher's Go Run Consistent (8.3) weight. Runs of 15 miles or more I use the Pro 2. The Pro 1 shoe I ended up getting 268, 209 and 220 with 3 pairs. Most runners can get 200 miles on the Pro 1 shoes but that is a dollar a mile. My way of thinking thats a bit expensive running.

Expand full comment