39 Comments

I love my go guarded ring. I never bothers me when I’m running and makes me feel like if something were to happen to me I could protect myself. Here’s the link to the website

https://goguarded.com/

They are also on amazon!

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I love my noxgear vest for early runs! I've been told by many people that they can see me from far away!

Expand full comment

A good headlamp on a dark morning! And Nox vest because it has easy batteries to replace

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

My dog! I run in a pretty well-lit neighborhood in the evenings, and since my dog needs exercise and happens to enjoy running, she goes with me.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I love running with as little as possible which makes it hard when running before sunrise. One of my favorite pieces of "equipment" are the Night Runner 270

https://www.amazon.com/Night-Runner-270-Shoe-Lights/dp/B07XZH465D. They are LED and rechargable - which makes a world of difference when trying to avoid uneven sidewalks.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I love my Noxgear vest! I find it comforting to feel like I’m seen and feel like it’s not intrusive to my running at all.

Now if we aren’t just speaking about visibility safety, my other MUST when running alone is my GoGuarded ring. I’m still always watching my surroundings but feel a little better prepared with my ring on just in case.

Expand full comment
Feb 14, 2020Liked by Hollie

My three go-to items: my noxgear vest, my Nathan torch light with an alarm and my go guarded ring.

Expand full comment

I use the noxgear vest and knucklelights, love them both

Expand full comment

My furry running partner, we live by a long stretch pier free from cars. But he really is the best pup

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I have hex head sheet metal screws on the bottom of a pair of running shoes. I always wear that pair when it may be icy out in winter.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I run on trails a lot & I try to have sunglasses and light gloves, so I don't get poked in the eye by a limb or skin my hands too much on the inevitable falls.

This winter I've gotten a good amount of use out of YakTrak on snowy/icy sidewalks and trails. I was skeptical but have gone up to eight miles in them with zero slips or falls. (I'm avoiding absolute sheer/solid ice though).

I tend to use off brand headlamps but I like one with a red light in the back. I augment this with RunLites gloves and a reflective vest.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I don’t get too many chances to run when it’s dark, but when I can, I use a rechargeable Nathan headlamp, apparel with reflective strips on the front and back I have a RoadID for my Garmin.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I wear a headlamp Petzl that I've had for years and a reflective vest from fitness section at walmart. Also my dog wears a headlamp around her neck :) I've seen dogs with noxgear-type rope light collars that look great. I'm looking at the rechargeable amazon headlamp linked below by Tim Jones for my next purchase.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

All of my go-to's have been mentioned. Noxgear vest, headlamp from amazon (rechargeable one), and go-guarded ring.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I use KnuckleLights, reflective vest and never run with headphones. Although Aftershokz’ design is much more accommodating for allowing both audio and outside sounds.

Expand full comment

My husband and I both use these vests:

https://www.noxgear.com/tracer360

They are so light, that it is also the vest I use when I don't need the lights on. I have had so many people stop me and say how visible I am.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

During the warm weather months I run early mornings with a group and all of us wear headlamps. It does make quite the sight when we run in a pack down the road...impossible to miss. I use the Black Diamond and have been really happy with it. Reliable, bright and has a blinking light in the back which helps with the safety aspect of the run.

Expand full comment

As a guy, my needs to consider safety are considerably lower than those of a woman (this is a very sad reality). But for me, aside from safety practices (run against traffic, assume drivers are not paying attention, etc.) I have 3 gear recommendations: (1) Noxgear Tracer light vest ... incredibly visible. (2) reflective everything, and also bright/light colors (3) I hate headlamps, so I was thrilled to find the ‘Flipbelt Light’ which slots into my FlipBelt and has an incredibly bright LED source that is perfect and adds great visibility.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I think everyone that has Noxgear is in love with it, I know I love mine although it eats batteries like candy in the cold.

So .... to add something new to the thread. I love my screw shoes in the icy, slushy, slop that has been this winter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdaUIRpYS88

Expand full comment

My newest favorite is my Knog headlamp. Rechargeable, lightweight, and band fits like swimming googles, so it’s not bulky or uncomfortable.

https://www.amazon.com/KNOG-Bandicoot-Silicone-LED-HeadLamp/dp/B07RT5FYXK/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=knog+headlamp&qid=1581600704&sprefix=knog+h&sr=8-4

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I do have a couple of florescent shirts, but try to never run when dark. Safety gear/cautions I take a would be. Long runs or hot days a 18 oz Nathan's SpeedDraw Plus insulated bottle. Runs over 20 miles I would have Tailwind Endurance Fuel (powder). For safety a cell phone can be put in the pouch of the handheld bottle. For safety no ear phones in during runs- nice to be able to hear cars. Also none during races- good to be able to hear if you have missed a turn while out on the trails.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

Reflective gear and an LED light that wraps around my arm for when its dark. I also have a Road ID badge with important information on my Garmin watch band. Finally, I always listen to music when I train. Aftershokz headphones allow me to listen to music and hear all things going on around me. Run well friends!!!

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I pretty much just use a headlamp. Right now I'm using a Black Diamond that's 200 lumens. I also stick Brilliant Strips on the back of my shirts. They hold up well for repeated washings and are super reflective.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I’ve been using this headlamp for years. It is superbright and inexpensive. I’ve recently also tried a body-mounted light.

Headlamp, Super Bright LED Headlamps 18650 USB Rechargeable IPX4 Waterproof Flashlight with Zoomable Work Light, Hard Hat Light for Camping, Hiking, Outdoors (Blue) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07WDNCNTH/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_ekurEbWD6G418

Expand full comment

I have a headlamp I love - helps me see better in the dark and obviously helps traffic see me, as well. I also love my RoadID bracelet. Fortunately I've never had any reason to use the info on it, but it makes me feel so much safer when I head out - especially since I do frequently run before the sun comes up.

Expand full comment

Definitely my Noxgear vest! I also really like some of the reflective running gear - I have pants from both Brooks and Oiselle that are very reflective and have fun patterns!

Expand full comment

When I run outside on dark mornings, I always wear a reflective vest with a flashing light on my back — traffic where I live is usually getting going by 7:00 am, so it’s a must.

I saw someone running last night who was wearing the Tracer360 lighted gear — first time I’d ever seen someone wearing it in real life. I definitely spotted them, so it works.

Expand full comment
Feb 13, 2020Liked by Hollie

I sometimes use reflective gear, but I should probably use something brighter like a vest or head lamp, since I run at night. You seemed to have some great suggestions in your newsletter this week.

Expand full comment

I end up running at times where it starts light and ends up dark or vice versa and for those, I dislike wearing or carrying a headlamp. This [ https://ultraspire.com/products/lumen-clip-180/ ] light clips onto my waistband or anything else you are wearing and provides sufficient light to seen and be seen. It's quite bright and USB rechargeable. Also has flashing red option. Highly recommend.

Expand full comment

Does anyone have a RunAngel? https://runangel.com/products/run-angel I don't have one but I really like the idea of it if I were running out in the wee hours of the morning!

Expand full comment