35 Comments
author

For me, I started running as something other than "the gym" to exercise. Now I love to compete and running is extremely social for me!

Expand full comment

I started running to get in shape because I was 45 & going to be a Father again. I figured I needed to, especially being older, if I wanted to have enough energy to keep up with & do the things kids like to do. I was lucky enough to find the local running group(Vinerunners) that had a lot of accomplished runners, & just nice people. As I checked off my running goals(Half Marathon, Marathon, Boston Marathon, 50K trail run...), I've come to find more & more, that I would rather run for fun than a PR. Fun for me, is running or training with someone to help them achieve their goals. Right now I am training with my girlfriend who hopes to complete her 1st 1/2 Ironman this December. Fun is also running trails whenever & wherever I get the chance.

Expand full comment

I started to lose weight, then it quickly became trying to place in age groups. Then it was running to beat my last time. Since turning 50 it's more about hanging out with friends and trying to keep some fitness. And drinking beer.

Expand full comment

I started running in high school to get better at lacrosse -- and then realized I was bad at lacrosse but loved running, and starting training for my first half in college! I have been running since then, and nothing can compare to a morning run that finishes with the sunrise. I love running alone without music and just my thoughts, or with friends, for the social aspect. Hope to stay running for many years to come:).

Expand full comment

Began as a walker, then after couple years I took up running. When I first started running it was to continue losing weight. Then it was for losing weight, getting faster and competing. Now it is for competing and maintaining my weight. Running offers many distances and challenges.

Expand full comment

I didn't start running until I was 49 and I am now about to turn 60. Running as you age is a bit humbling. I was able to accomplish most of my major goals and so now I just run to stay in shape, although I am slower and run shorter distances. I hope I can run for many years to come.

Expand full comment

I started running a few years after college because of how unhealthy I had become... overweight, stressed out, constantly tired and unable to do simple physical activities without becoming exhausted. It took a few months but I lost weight, felt stronger and more fit, and my stress levels had gone down. I also made many great friends through running. I fell in love with running, especially pushing the distance. I've done a few dozen marathons and even more ultras, but mostly I run because when I run I'm a better version of myself. I still like to challenge myself and am looking to do another ultra this fall (after not racing for over 2 years), but even without a race on the calendar the benefits it gives to my mental and physical health will keep me going as long as I can.

Expand full comment

I started running five and a half years ago for two reasons: (1) we adopted a shelter dog who loves to run, and (2) I was getting chunky and didn't want to buy new pants.

I've recently had to buy all new pants because I went down a size, and I still run with Roxy almost every day. We both love to spend "off leash" time on the trails near our home in southern Utah. I race a lot, mostly because it gives me a reason to keep training instead of slacking off. My big goal right now is that I want to run all six of the Abbot World Majors. I'm checking of number two in a couple of weeks at the Chicago Marathon.

Lately, the thing that really keeps me going is the running community. I somehow ended up the admin for our local running group, and it's been great to get to know so many great runners -- of all abilities. We have everything from newbs to back-of-the-packers to professional/sponsored runners. It's fun to get to know everybody and see each other on runs and at races. It's become a big part of my life.

Expand full comment

I ran cross country in high school and we did well regionally. (Provincially we got our butts handed to us). It was in the early seventies and I could watch Amby Burfoot, Jerome Drayton, Frank Shorter, Bill Rodgers, and Alberto Salazar compete in the Men's Division (Hal Higdon was a Masters runner at that time). After high school, life took over and I moved on to other things.

By my late forties, I was 210 pounds and well on my way to metabolic syndrome. I lost fifty pounds for my fiftieth birthday. Along the way, I signed up for a New Years' Eve 5K and joined a Learn to Run clinic. I lasted two weeks in the LTR clinic and got booted into the 5K clinic. Somehow I was running at the front of the pack, it must have been after almost 30 years on the couch I was well-rested.

I've kept the weight off for over a decade and I'm still running.

Expand full comment

I started because it was something that my ex-wife wanted us to do for LLS. I had zero desire to run but then it got into my blood and was something I was drawn to. Over the past 14 years, running has had many different reasons for being a part of my life. Today it is about the adventure and the memories while pushing my boundaries. Finding races that are hard and doing everything I can to ge to the finish line and prove to myself that I can accomplish hard things.

Expand full comment