14 Comments
author

After my first marathon, New York City in 2013, I was sad it was over. I found other hobbies and it took me a month or so, but I came back to running when I wanted not because I felt like I needed too.

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2021Liked by Hollie

Earlier this year I was able to get of copy of the Canadian Olympic Team's Post-Games Planning Guide for Athletes. It is a wealth of information for post-major event planning for personal well-being and mental health.

It encourages athletes to have a documented plan for after a major event and then provides a multi-discipline planning guide for creating the plan.

I have put a copy on my Google Drive

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UjCq1kqV6aA8gggn5RV05bI-ennc2ap_/view?usp=sharing

It is informative, eye-opening, and incredibly useful for recreational athletes as well.

Expand full comment

I've done way too many races this year, but I've always had another one coming up pretty much as soon as I've finished the last one. Now that I've finished Chicago, I don't really have another major race scheduled for a while. I'm having trouble being super motivated to do more than the bare minimum. Luckily, my dog still wants to go out and run, so I still have to take her. But I'm not really doing much apart from that. Just going out and running. Which is OK.

I'll get back to speed work and so on in a few weeks. Until then, easy trail runs with Roxy....

Expand full comment

it took me months to mentally recover after Boston 2017. I built it up in my mind so much before hand, it took me multiple attempts to qualify, and then after all of that, my race really fell short of expectations when I cramped up (due to heat).

I wish I knew some specific advice to give others, but Hollie has said it best - your standing with your friends and family doesn't depend on your race time. They care about YOU, not YOUR RACE TIME! I am now at the point where I reflect fondly on the entire experience.

Expand full comment

Yes, definitely, especially post-marathon. Our bodies, minds, and hormones are out of whack and that is normal. My advice is just to give it time and know that it's normal. I'm someone who always has another race on the calendar, but that alone isn't enough.

Expand full comment

Races- I'm very seldom satisfied with my racing time. Have run several half marathons I was happy with. 50k races- only happy with 1 race. I try to figure out what could have been done differently or better and make changes to my training and racing. Treadmills- I don't have a real expensive one- new price 1,000. I try to use treadmill as little as possible. If I know a bad weather day is coming I use that as my day off. Treadmills- can be good for running a particular pace. I mentioned having bought a 39.95 pair of Sketcher's Go Run Consistent shoes- got 251 miles before tossing hem out.

Expand full comment